Goodnight, Mr. Colbert

the-colbert-report-to-resume-taping-mondayI just watched the last Colbert Report and I must say I am sad. Sadder than I thought I would be. Of course, I’m super excited for him to take over the Late Show, but next week when I look for something to watch after work, there will be a Colbert-shaped hole in my life. Some of you may know that it is a dream of mine to work for Mr. Colbert someday. As a tribute to my hero and his future job, I’d like to list my “Top Ten” favorite Colbert Moments. Just kidding, I couldn’t pick just ten, so here’s my top 15:

15. Better Know A District. This is my favorite segment overall because it’s a chance for Colbert to invoke the most awkward moments in Colbert history. I even started writing my own idea for better knowing a district that will, sadly, never be better known.  The best Better Know a District editions are the first and the last: Jack Kingston, Georgia’s 1st, The fighting first!

14. I Am A Pole And So Can You/Maurice Sendak Interview. I’m a huge fan of children’s books and now that my man works for Random House I can get all the books. This three-part series of interviews is delightful!

13. Colbert SuperPAC taught me about the dirty underbelly of election politics. It also taught me some dirty puns.

12. China Rips off the Colbert Report. After living in China for years, I love me a good rip-off.

11. All of Colbert’s LOTR Geek Outs. As a relatively geeky LOTR fan, it’s fun to see those who can geek bigger than me.

10. Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear. I was supposed to be there. Long story short: I watched most of it on the live stream.

Colbert-Stewart_2010_DC_rally_posters

9. From Russia With Love (But No Gay Stuff). I grew up watching The Kids in the Hall. I’m totally jelly that Stephen and Buddy are besties!

8. Vancouverage 2010. I have a secret obsession with the Olympics so there is a special place in my heart for Colbert’s sweet enthusiasm.

7. A Colbert Christmas. He truly earned his Emmy on this one. I’m just sad that it never became an annual tradition.

6. Colbert For President. I was really gung-ho about Colbert’s Presidential bid. I even tried to change my residence to my grandparent’s house in South Carolina just so I could vote in the primaries. This country would be a different place if Colbert made it to the White House.

5. Working podcast. This raw look into the daily life of the real Stephen re-invigorated my plans to work for this man someday. Soon.

4. Colbert goes to Congress. On the show, he did a great series of segments about the experience as a migrant worker, but I was especially moved by his personal appearance in Congress.

3. 2006 White House Correspondents Dinner. This was the moment I fell in love with this man’s soul. I enjoyed him on The Daily Show and I watched his new show regularly, but this speech but him in the spotlight of my heart.

2. The time I saw The Colbert Report LIVE! It was the same night a tornado hit Brooklyn. Memories!

me and colbert

1. Daft Punk Music Video Dance Party. It is my life’s goal to perfect the spinning dance move that Colbert executes with grace and insanity.

Honorable Mentions:

The slow smile. Colbert’s perfect facsimile of Herman Cain’s creepy campaign ad smile is unforgettable–it haunts my dreams.

i8BBQ1vaVnU6z

The Late Night Fight. During the Writer’s Strike of 2007, everyone had to get creative. One of the best bits to come out of that time (besides Dr. Horrible’s Sing-A-Long Blog) was the knock-down drag’m out fight between Colbert, Stewart and Conan. It was a thing of beauty and (fake) blood.

So that’s my list. How about you?

What is your favorite Colbert moment? And how do you feel about his switch to the Late Show?

Please comment below and thanks for musing with me, bananagrapes!

Leave a Reply

