Cold Remedies

sickIt’s the most wonderful time of the year? Nope! It’s the cold and flu season! Every morning I cram into a crowed bus or subway car and pray that the people next to me are not sick. I am not usually such a germaphobe, but as the temperature drops, my paranoia rises.

And rightfully so because today I am sick.

Sick. Sick. Sick.

Stuffy nose, cough, headache, body ache, sore throat, and general ickiness. And now I have to become my greatest fear. I must cram into a crowded bus and subway and do my best not to cough or sneeze on the people around me.

If I could stay home, I would, but there is too much work to do and not enough hours in the day to get it done. So off to work I go.

My desk is piled high with tissues, cough drops, DayQuil, and vitamins. I drink water like it’s going out of style. I looked up some home remedies for getting well soon and here’s what I found:

chibirdCold Remedy #1: Drink plenty of fluids (8 to 10 glasses) to help break up your congestion.

Cold Remedy #2: Inhale steam to ease your congestion and drippy nose.

Cold Remedy #3: Blow your nose often.

Cold Remedy #4: Use saline nasal sprays or make your own salt water rinse to irrigate your nose.

Cold Remedy #5: Stay warm and rested.

Cold Remedy #6: Gargle with warm salt water.

Cold Remedy #7: Drink hot liquids.

Cold Remedy #8: Take a steamy shower.

Cold Remedy #9: Try a small dab of mentholated salve under your nose;

Cold Remedy #10: Apply hot packs around your congested sinuses.

Cold Remedy #11: Sleep with an extra pillow under your head.

Cold Remedy #12: Learn about natural remedies like zinc, echinacea, and vitamin C.

Source: WebMD

Do you have a preferred cold remedy? Please share in the comments below.

Thanks for musing with me today.

2 thoughts on “Cold Remedies

  1. if you do the steam inhalation, try adding a few drops of tea tree essential oil to the water – it is a natural antiseptic and will help ensure that your cold doesn’t turn in to a sinus infection!

    Like

Leave a Reply

